• +248 4679800, 4679801
  • admin@iss.sc
  • Victoria, Mahé, Seychelles

Achievement Evening 2015

On Saturday the International School Seychelles held its annual Achievement Evening at Eden Bleu Hotel, Eden Island. This wonderful occasion marked the culmination of many years of hard work and dedicated study by our exceptional group of Year 11 and Year 13 students, many having been at ISS for 10 years or more since early childhood.

Following thought-provoking and inspirational speeches by the Principal Mrs Margaret Pillay, the Chairperson of the Board Mrs Laura Valabhji and Keynote speaker Mr Nick Baldwin; a former student of the school and now a world class triathlete, the ceremony progressed to the issuing of the Year 11 Record of Achievement files by the Form Tutors Mr Simon Armitt and Mr Matt O’Shea, coordinated by the Head of Year Mr John Meyer.

In an addition to the programme for 2014, Subject Awards were also presented to students who had demonstrated exceptional academic achievement or who had made significant progress throughout their two year IGCSE courses.

Click on the >> to read more and for winners names!

The Year 11 Subject Awards were presented as follows:

Art & Design – Gaelle Dubignon
Business Studies – Eric D’Souza
English Language – Amy Jean
English Literature – Maemoon Hoevers
French – Jyothikalaskmi Chetty
Geography – Leyla Rigamonti
History – Eric D’Souza
ICT – Leyla Rigamonti
Mathematics – Ramanan Karunanithy
Performing Arts – Denise Banga
Physical Education – Calvin Horner
Coordinated Science – Michelle Fock-Tave
Travel & Tourism- Khanjan Darad

The Year 11 Principal’s Award for outstanding academic achievement across a variety of subjects and exceptional contribution to the wider school community was awarded to Mary Xu.

Calvin Horner, Gaelle Dubignon, Eric D’Souza and Maemoon Hoevers presented a heart warming video presentation of photos of students from the last eleven years, before giving their vote of thanks. A beautiful rendition of Whitney Houston’s “Try it on my own” was sung by the very talented year 11 Denise Banga which concluded the presentations for her year group apart from the surprise birthday cakes given to both Mr Meyer and Mr Armitt who were celebrating on this day.

The ceremony continued with a speech by the Head of Sixth Form, Mr Mike Cosh who then announced the Year 13 Subject Awards and presented by their Form Tutor Ms Yanne Payet. The awards are for students who had demonstrated exceptional academic achievement or who had made significant progress throughout their two year A Level courses and are as follows:

Applied ICT – Korry Robert
Art & Design – Chang Liu
Biology – Andrea Woodcock
Business Studies – Aurelie Fanchette
Chemistry – Andrea Woodcock
English Language – Rebecca Chionni
English Literature –Guyanne Sinon
French – Aurelie Fanchette
Geography – Guichardt Nourice
History – Fabrice Ernesta
Mathematics – Constantinos Gaitanos
Physics – Yuan Xu
Psychology – Xenia Pantazopoulou

Our most senior Year 13 students also received a leavers gifts which was a hoody depicting the class of 2015 individual student names. These Year 13 students have finally graduated from ISS and will be leaving to pursue further education at University or preparing for work and apprenticeships.

For outstanding qualities of self-motivation, commitment and dedication to their studies; the Head of Sixth Form Award was presented to the well deserving student Milind Patel.

The Year 13 Principal’s Award for outstanding academic achievement throughout his time at ISS was awarded to Yuan Xu, which complimented his sisters’ achievements for her similar year 11 award.

The most prestigious award of the evening, the Board of Governors Award, was presented to a student who, during her many years at ISS, displayed an excellent commitment to her academic studies, unquestionable dedication to the wider life of the school and compassionate friendship towards her fellow students. An exceptional student and a true ambassador for ISS, our Head Girl Andrea Woodcock.

Andrea and her Deputy Head Boy, Constantinos Gaitanos, gave a wonderful and humorous speech which included a vote of thanks.

The year 13 celebrations also included wonderful performances of Anna Kenndrick’s “cups” by a number of student’s as well as an amazing solo performance by Calvin Laporte on his guitar of an Ed Sheeran classic.

The ceremony was closed with some poignant remarks made by Ms Nichola Boughey who also thanked all contributors including Galaxy Computers for donating a laptop and John Ditchburn who donated kindles for the awards. A special vote of thanks and gift was presented to Karin Steiner, the chair of the PTA, who without her endless time, dedication and committed support of this event; it would not be the resounding success it clearly was.

There was a sort time interval before the evening event commenced – the ISS 2015 Prom, where in excess of one hundred students, staff and guests enjoyed a beautiful buffet before dancing the night away. Many thanks to Guichardt and his team who’s joint efforts coordinated this aspect of the evening, and together with the Achievement Ceremony making it a truly spectacular and memorable event.